Google-Blogger

 

I love blogs and blogging. I stared years ago to experiment with it on Yahoo’s 360 platform. I went out and found interesting history places to visit or events I found interesting and wrote a little bit about it. I blogged about my feelings about some current events and shared cools stuff I found around the internet. I soon found out I was not a lonely soul on a deserted island, there actually were other history buffs out there that enjoyed my posts about history and other nuts and bolts. Well as all good things must come to an end so, did Yahoo’s 360.  I moved on to bigger and better things.

 

retirement-ahead

 

I pretty much forgot about until I was about a year and a half from retiring from the US Army and looked for some things to do after retirement. I did not know what I wanted to do. I saw others before me do many different things. Some who had retired before me moved into a fabulous new career with upward mobility, trading in their uniforms and boots for a suit and tie. Others bought a house with a huge property and built a ten foot wall around them. Others started a family at 40! I figured if I shot for at least three choices of the next step in my career path, one would happen. I wanted a new job. Something in either the history field, in logistics, or a new unexpected opportunity. Which one I applied to and received first would be my new career path. Well from the time I began my retirement processes to when I actually retired the history jobs dried up like a drought after a rain. So I pursued logistics or whatever I could get to bring money into the house. I soon landed a job in logistics-though, not near what I am actually qualified to do, but rewarding and good enough for now. I also found from listening to a forum poster that I should do what I love, which is history, even though it may be a slow process to get an opportunity to get paid at it. So the blogging idea came to mind once again.

 

decision-making

 

Now fast forward to the present, things have changed and still are. I am in graduate studies at Norwich University, which is awesome. So I have my brain power being tested weekly by the enormous amount of work being a college student goes into. Much more than undergrad or community college was for me. So it gets hard to keep a regularly scheduled blog. It gets even harder sometimes-to find something to blog about. Which brings me to the subject of today’s History on Saturday-Google Blogger.

 

loveblogging

 

I was reading a blog posted by a class peer, to understand the historian we are reading about in class this week, and found that by clicking the Next Blog button on top of the page, it leads you to other history blogs. Cool. Some of these blogs are so creative its mind boggling. It gives me plenty of creative ideas for my own blog. But I digress. If you get tired or bored with the history blogs, keep clicking. It takes you to other blogs and you find blogs of all kinds and ideas. People literally blog about EVERYTHING. It is great. Only drawback is your bookmark folder will get full, and your PC will start smoking with all the mad save-till- later reading you will create. But digital hoarding is another topic blogged about by Stillwater Historians.

